37th Belgrade Jazz Festival 2020

37th Belgrade Jazz Festival 2020

37th Belgrade Jazz Festival 2020

via @bgjazzfest

Arild Andersen Group

29. 10. 2021. - Main Hall DOB 19.00

The management reserves the right to change the program or timetable due to the epidemiological situation and measures at any given point during the Festival. Please, check the program and schedule on the day of the concert at www.bjf.rs and www.domomladine.org

Arild Andersen – double bass
Marius Neset – saxophone
Helge Lien – piano
Håkon Mjåset Johansen – drums 

Double bassist and composer Arild Andersen pioneered the European path to jazz as one of the most prominent Scandinavian and European jazz artists of all time. He started his career as a guitarist in the early sixties before switching to double bass in 1964. From 1967 to 1973, he was a member of the trio, quartet and quintet of saxophonist Jan Garbarek, recording five albums with him, including three for the young ECM label. Starting with the album Clouds in My Head (1975) Andersen has released over twenty albums as a leader/co-leader, most of them for ECM. Main collaborations: George Russell, Don Cherry, Bill Frisell, Sonny Rollins, Roswell Rudd, Chick Corea, John Abercrombie, Sheila Jordan, Bobo Stenson, Thomasz Stańko, Markus Stockhausen, Karin Krog, Yelena Eckemoff, Ferenc Snétberger and Ketil Bjørnstad, among others. During the 1980s, he was a member of the notable Norwegian collective Masqualero (Jon Balke, Nils Petter Molvær, Tore Brunborg and Jon Christensen), recording four albums and performing worldwide.

Arild Andersen Group brings together prominent figures of contemporary Norwegian jazz. Saxophonist Marius Neset, the youngest among them, already has a fantastic solo career (performed at the Festival with his band in 2017), pianist Helge Lien has been successfully leading his trio (ten albums) for over two decades, and drummer Håkon Mjåset Johansen is a member of the Motif quintet, collaborating with numerous other ensembles on the Norwegian jazz scene.